Product detail

Playing Dead

Playing Dead

Author: Jessie Keane
$9.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

Annie Carter is back! She was a madam in a brothel and a gangster's moll, but now her protection is gone and her enemies are closing in. 1971, London gang boss Annie Carter Barolli is living the New York high life with the feared mafia godfather Constantine Barolli. Then family tragedy strikes, leaving only Annie, Constantine's sister Gina and his three children alive, and now they're in terrible danger. And what's worse -- it signals a major shift in mafia power. Annie returns to London with her daughter Layla, pursued by a hit man. Someone wants her dead and the only way she can stay alive is to find out who's paying for the contract and to strike first. Then, the reappearance of an old East End face sparks a shocking suspicion -- the possibility that Max Carter, Annie's first and greatest love, didn't die two years ago, as she had been led to believe. Has he truly just been playing dead?

Reviews

Praise for Jail Bird: 'Fans of Martina Cole will love this' Teesside Evening Gazette 'Keane's have a grittiness and strong sense of place and character that make them especially compelling' Choice Magazine Praise for Jessie Keane: 'This is a riveting story, with gutsy, gritty characters and a genuine feel for the period.' Books Monthly 'A cracking story from a great new writer' Mandasue Heller 'Jessie Keane gives us a fascinating insight into the rivalries and lifestyles of those who make fortunes out of a criminal way of life and of the lowlifes that carry out their orders.' Lincolnshire Echo 'Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante' Glamour 'Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel' Closer 'This is the sort of competition Martina Cole could do without and if Keane does hit the No. 1 spot it could be handbags, or more likely knuckledusters, at dawn' The Northern Echo

Author description

Jessie Keane is the bestselling author of Dirty Game and Black Widow. Scarlet Women, the third in the Annie Carter trilogy, shot straight into the Sunday Times bestseller list. Her most recent novel is The Make. Jessie lives in Hampshire.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780007326563
  • : Publishers Distribution LTD.
  • : Publishers Distribution LTD.
  • : July 2011
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 400
  • : 400
  • : 823.92
  • : 823.92
  • : Jessie Keane
  • : Jessie Keane
  • : Paperback