Product detail

The Agincourt Bride

The Agincourt Bride

Author: Joanna Hickson
$7.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 19
Description
The epic story of the queen who founded the Tudor dynasty, told through the eyes of her loyal nursemaid. Perfect for fans of Philipa Gregory. Her beauty fuelled a war. Her courage captured a king. Her passion would launch the Tudor dynasty. When her own first child is tragically still-born, the young Mette is pressed into service as a wet-nurse at the court of the mad king, Charles VI of France. Her young charge is the princess, Catherine de Valois, caught up in the turbulence and chaos of life at court. Mette and the child forge a bond, one that transcends Mette's lowly position. But as Catherine approaches womanhood, her unique position seals her fate as a pawn between two powerful dynasties. Her brother, The Dauphin and the dark and sinister, Duke of Burgundy will both use Catherine to further the cause of France. Catherine is powerless to stop them, but with the French defeat at the Battle of Agincourt, the tables turn and suddenly her currency has never been higher. But can Mette protect Catherine from forces at court who seek to harm her or will her loyalty to Catherine place her in even greater danger?
Reviews
'The sense of period is terrific - filled with characters about whom I cared enormously.' Barbara Erskine 'Superb...a real find.' The Bookseller
Author description
Joanna spent twenty-five years at the BBC writing and presenting for radio and television. Gripped by Shakespeare's historical plays, Joanna began researching the King Henry V's 'fair Kate' as a schoolgirl and the story of Catherine de Valois and the Tudor genesis has remained with her throughout life. Joanna Hickson lives in an old farmhouse in East Lothian and is married with a large family and a wayward Irish terrier.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780007446971
  • : Publishers Distribution LTD.
  • : Publishers Distribution LTD.
  • : January 2013
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 592
  • : 592
  • : 823.92
  • : 823.92
  • : Joanna Hickson
  • : Joanna Hickson
  • : Paperback