The Hiding Place

Author(s): John Burley

Fiction

She can't reach him ...but he can get to her ...A chilling twisty tale of cat and mouse - perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Harlan Coben. Dr Lise Shields works with the most deadly criminals in America. At Menaker psychiatric hospital all are guilty and no one ever leaves. Then she meets Jason Edwards. Jason is an anomaly. No transfer order, no patient history, no paperwork at all. Is he really guilty of the horrific crimes he's been sentenced for? Caught up in a web of unanswered questions and hastily concealed injustices, the spotlight begins to shine on Lise. She's being watched, and the doors of Menaker psychiatric hospital are closing in. In Lise's quest to discover the truth, is there anywhere left to hide?

$7.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
12


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

"It's become a cliche to say you read a book in one sitting, and it's not true here. I had to get up in the middle of No Mercy for a drink to calm my nerves." Linwood Barclay. " A wonderful psychological thriller' The Sun Praise for The Hiding Place: "There is no other word than enthralled to describe exactly how the reader will feel the moment they begin this amazing book... A fantastic psychological ride ... this is one author that can scare you to death." Suspense Magazine "A riveting read filled with medical and psychological detail." The Californian "Burley (Absence of Mercy, 2013) deftly twists this psychological thriller, threading his tale with clues that add up to a stunning revelation. Dark, intricate and compelling." Kirkus Reviews

John Burley attended medical school in Chicago and completed his residency in emergency medicine at the University of Maryland Medical Center's Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore. He currently serves as an emergency medicine physician in Northern California, where he lives with his wife and daughter, and their Great Dane and English bulldog. This is his first novel.

General Fields

  • : 9780007559503
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • : August 2015
  • : 197mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : John Burley
  • : Paperback
  • : Paperback
  • : 352
  • : 352
  • : 813.6
  • : 813.6
  • : John Burley